Omnomnominator’s Blog

Cookies and Pancakes and Stuff

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on February 28, 2009

These are pictures from my Copycat Levain Cookies….Turnout was good. I tried one out of the oven, but really it was too hot to tell. I will try another maybe today and see. I don’t know about the best I’ve ever had though. They are HUGE cookies. I found this recipe http://lisamichele.wordpress.com/ so check it out if you want it. I recommend going with the 1 cup brown sugar to 1/2 cup white though, definitely.

I used my scale to portion out 4oz of cookie dough. Baking is a science and I regularly scale things out but never dough so when I read that I thought “that sounds like an awful lot of dough” and it is. It makes a fist size cookie. So, I made one batch like that and another at 2 oz each. I guess I need to try the real deal from Levain (and I will in a month!) to see how mine really compared or what tweaks I can make

Butter and Sugars. Yeah C'mon

Butter and Sugars. Yeah C'mon

Toaster Walnuts, ready for chopping

Toaster Walnuts, ready for chopping

Adding the chocolate chunks. I used one cup semi and one cup milk

Adding the chocolate chunks. I used one cup semi and one cup milk

4oz is a BIG cookie. That baking sheet normally holds 18 regular size cookies. I could only get 6 of these on there

4oz is a BIG cookie. That baking sheet normally holds 18 regular size cookies. I could only get 6 of these on there

Scale of reference - that's a 1/2 cup

Scale of reference - that's a 1/2 cup

OMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMOMNOMNOMNOM

OMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMOMNOMNOMNOM

Again, it's a BIG cookie

Again, it's a BIG cookie

Obviously not cookies. Just my breakfast.

Obviously not cookies. Just my breakfast. Pancakes, Eggwhite scramble, turkey bacon. Something not right about turkey bacon, I think, but it tastes pretty good I guess

So this is a picture of my breakfast. I make a big batch of pancakes on the weekend and freeze them for the coming week.  I make mine protein pancakes because I don’t get as much protein as I would like so I sneak it in wherever I can. Egg white and Cottage Cheese (gross by itself. blech) are great sources of protein. When I”m making them fresh, I throw some bananas in there too. omnomnomnom. Don’t knock my protein pancakes til you try them….

Protein Pancakes
1 cup cottage cheese

1 Cup rolled Oats

1 Cup egg white

sprinkle in cinnamon, cardoman, nutmeg, whatever spice you feel like.

if you want to throw a sugar or sugar sub in, by all means. I usually eat these with syrup or jam though so I don’t really find the need

Throw it in a blender, whirl around til smooth, fry them up. omnomnomnom

And, while waiting on my batches of pancakes to cook, I cleaned my house and finally installed my shower rod in the guest bath. It took approximately 4 weeks and 5 minutes.

tools of the trade

tools of the trade

finally

finally

Leave a Reply

