Omnomnominator’s Blog

Snowed in = lots of cooking

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on March 2, 2009
Happy March! This is my new Frank Sinatra Calendar. I love it.

Happy March! This is my new Frank Sinatra Calendar. I love it.

Happy March!

View Outside. Nice

View Outside. Nice

I did run outside in flip flops to put the cover on my egg. Priorities - I has them

I did run outside in flip flops to put the cover on my egg. Priorities - I has them

So bizarre. I’m from deeper south than Atlanta so this is triply weird for me.  I put my previous plans on hold because, well, I really didn’t have a choice and got out the recipes.  Like a DUMMY I got in my truck to go to Publix because I really thought I needed white chocolate chips that bad. Luckily, I made it there and back withou incident. Bluebird (the dog)  thought he wanted to go out in it so I had to put on some boots to go get my duck boots out of the truck so we could walk through the slush.  He seemed to enjoy it but when we made a second pass by the driveway he put on his blinker and made a hard right for the door.

So, today I made my favorite Greek Salad to munch on the rest of the week, some almond / cranberry biscotti because I’ve always wanted to make biscotti, some healthy food bars with oatmeal and cranberries and stuff in them, and before any of it, I threw some chicken into the slow cooker for BBQ chicken.

Greek Salad is from the Eat Clean Diet Cookbook . I don’t follow this diet or anything, but I like the concept of Clean Eating. It’s basically more natural but still tastes alright. Don’t be concerned, I will still mess up some deep fried twinkies and other junk food, but I’m trying to balance things out a bit…anyways, this is my modified salad based on the book

2 tomatoes, diced

1 cucumber, seeded and cut into chunks

a half a can of black olives, coarsely chopped

half an onion (your choice) cut into big diced pieces

1 tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

1-2 Tbsp Cilantro, finely chopped

2 oz Feta Cheese

Mix it all together, the flavors get better as it marinates longer. Salt and pepper to taste

Ingredients for Greek Salad

Ingredients for Greek Salad

Mix it all up! Omnomnomnomnom

Mix it all up! Omnomnomnomnom

Here's the Biscotti I made. I think Biscotti is Italian for "scrape off the protective layer of skin in your mouth" but I love it anyway

Here's the Biscotti I made. I think Biscotti is Italian for "scrape off the protective layer of skin in your mouth" but I love it anyway

Taste tester and vaccuum

Taste tester and vaccuum

I give the Biscotti (also from the Eat Clean Cookbook) a B – It’s a little too healthy tasting for me but it’s still pretty good.

The BBQ chicken I made for dinner (a bottle of my favorite bbq sauce, 1/2 cup of italian dressing and 1/4 cup brown sugar – stir, put in chicken breasts and slooooow cook) was fantastic. A++ After a few hours and the chicken is cooked, take it out, shred it, and put it back in the sauce for a few hours. ved with zuchini and oven baked sweet potato fries. OMNOMNOMNOM. My camera died though so no pictures.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wondertwin said, on March 6, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    nice cucumber.


Leave a Reply

