Omnomnominator’s Blog

Bread Success

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on March 24, 2009

I finally did it. After 4 failed Challahs, 1 semi-edible batch of croissants and 1 decent batch of crescent rolls I have made bread that tastes like bread.

I bought this bread cookbook Kneadlessly Simple which relies solely on the super slow rise technique. You don’t knead the bread at all, just stir the ingredients and let rise first in the fridge then in a cool room. The beauty is you can put it in the fridge for 3 to 10 hours and then let it rise for 12 to 24 hours so there’s a lot of flexibility. I finally got mine in the bread pans tonight for the final rise and out of the oven. The house smells like fresh bread and the bread is good. Ok, I was supposed to wait to cut it but after all the failures I’ve had I decided I wasn’t waiting two hours to find out if I needed to toss these things or not.  And it’s a not….Omnomnomnom.

So far, bread gets a 4 noms out of 5 but that’s because I need to try again once cool. Really, it gets 5 noms just for tasting like bread and not…air. I made a honey oat bread, by the way…

After second rise, ready for oven

After second rise, ready for oven

1 other loaf

1 other loaf

1 loaf

1 loaf

Nice crumb

Nice crumb

Score: 4 noms out of 5

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. katieo said, on March 25, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    That looks delicious, but would look much more delicious with M&Ms crumbled up and sprinkled on top.

    Mmmmmm.


Leave a Reply

