Omnomnominator’s Blog

New York New York: Part 2

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on April 5, 2009

I am drinking from my new favorite mug again. I really really love this mug.  I’m contemplating throwing all my other mugs away and just having this one. Ok.

Another unrelated note, ate at Flip last night. If you get the chance, go here and get probably any burger and the fried okra. The sweet potato tots are good as is the fried asparagus but the okra really makes it. Whatever mayo they put on the rBQ…I can’t even talk about it, it was so good. I think the wait was long but I really didn’t notice. Great design of the interior too and evidently they have a good playlist for background music.  Didn’t save room for a milkshake but they did look dang tasty.

So new york part 2. I’m glad I scribbled this away in my moleskine or I might have forgotten at this point.

I got up early (6:30 early. Boo.) and when my eyes popped open my first thought was “doughnuts omnomnomnom”. It is common for my first thought to be food. I often wake up on Saturdays thinking about Pot Roast but I’m not sure why just on Saturdays.  So I slipped out of bed and grabbed my ipod, JB’s i-thing with the map and a cup of coffee and headed out. JB slept soundly so I scribbled a note to her and took off.

Note to JB

Note to JB

I am a hunter. A donut assassin.

I am a hunter. A donut assassin.

I put on some Eagles of Death Metal to get me in the mood and headed out towards Dougnut Plant. Now, I am not a doughnut expert. That’s party Foul’s specialty. I’m more cupcakes and cookies myself, but I do loves the doughnuts too. I had read in about a million places that Doughnut Plant is the place so I had to make it there. I finally arrived and from across the street I thought they were closed. I started to get really concerned but then realized they’re just really small and sorta dark. I crossed the street and walked into a very tiny space filled with Doughnuts. I ordered the Creme Brulee, chocolate blackout (chocolate filled Chocolate doughnut with choc. sprinkles), hazelnut, pb and j and coconut. I told the fellow behind the counter that I was here from Atlanta and his doughnuts were supposed to be the best and did I miss anything. He smiled at me, shook his head and gave me a little doughnut plant card with my bag. Very nice.

Go there

Go there

Got back to the hotel and JB was up. I grabbed a plate and we started taste testing doughnuts. I would give the Creme Brulee a solid 3. I love the dessert and as a doughnut it was very good, but the others were even better. The hazelnut as fantastic, 5 noms for it, and Chocolate blackout was a solid 3 as well. The Peanut Butter and Jelly, however, was 6 noms out of 5. Peanutbutter glaze with a Grape Jelly filling. Omnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnom.  I’m not even sure I can discuss the coconut. It was like coconut cream pie. nuff said.

6 to 11 noms. OMNOMNOMNOMNOM

6 to 11 noms. OMNOMNOMNOMNOM

Creme Brulee. WITH caramelized top. Omnom

Creme Brulee. WITH caramelized top. Omnom

Hazelnut. I don't even know why it was sooooo good but it was

Hazelnut. I don't even know why it was sooooo good but it was

Om.Nom.Nom.Nom.Nom.

Om.Nom.Nom.Nom.Nom.

So with a belly full of doughnuts we headed out to find some cupcakes. We ended up at Sweet Revenge first. They’re a wine / cupcake bar in Soho. Some very nice ladies helped us out with cupcake selection. Vicki and Jess I think. Sat and talked with them for a bit and got the scoop on more cupcake places.

Jess and Vicki. I was going to try and grab that bowl of icing and run but I thought they would catch me

Jess and Vicki. I was going to try and grab that bowl of icing and run but I thought they would catch me

Omnomnomnom

Omnomnomnom

I got the Dulce de Leche and the Red Velvet upon their recommendations. They give you a wooden fork to eat it with. It works. Omnomnomnom. I’d give these cupcakes 3.5 noms out of 5. Very good. Especially the icing.

We tried to get to a crepe place next but they weren’t open yet. At 10am. I was a little surprised and dissapointed to be honest. Next time…We strolled around for a bit and ended up near Union Square. Grabbed a hot dog and a shish kebab from a street cart and headed to a museum for a tour. Before the museum, I spotted Balthazaar (a french restaraunt) that’s suppoed to have very good doughnuts. I guess in France they are very good but here in the states I would say no. I mean, I ate the whole thing but it wasn’t that good.

We headed to the Tenement Museum. JB’s ankle was hurting her pretty badly so she sat out most of the tour but I finished it out. Interesting stuff. From there we ambled down to chinatown and had a thoroughly unremarkable meal. Dissapointing. I’m not even going to post pictures it was so boring. So we headed back up town to Little Italy for a bit of shopping. JB grabbed a chocolate dipped canoli from Ferrara’s. I could not fit anything else in my belly at this point, which was disspointing. JB gave the cannoli 3.5 noms out of 5 though.  I also had a great cup of coffee at Joe – the art of coffee. Great name too.

Unbelievably, we went out for more food. Veselka was on the list of places to try and for dang good reason. OMNOMNOMNOMNOM. It’s Ukranian comfort food and it was in fact comforting. We split a sampler platter and tried Borscht (Excellent excellent excellent), some salad that was fantastic, cabbage roll and some pierogies. Oh and a blintz. OMNOMNOMNOMNOM. I ended up eating most of it and I don’t think JB liked the Cabbage but I give that entire meal 554 noms.

Cheese Blintz. I loved it with the Sour Cream

Cheese Blintz. I loved it with the Sour Cream

Borscht really is good. Who knew

Borscht really is good. Who knew

Again, unbelievably even to me, we headed out for dessert. As I type this I can’t believe we ate all of this. Landmark day because this was the best cupcake I’ve ever had. Ever. Other cupcakes are not even close. It’s a teeny tiny hole in the wall called Chikalicious. We tried the smores and the coconut. OMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOMNOM. I will be thinking about that icing for years to come….

I'm pretty close to licking the monitor every time i look at this picture

I'm pretty close to licking the monitor every time i look at this picture

Yeah, so, of course we kept going. Momofuku was up next (and last for the night.) This place is famous for all of their food but I was after the ice cream. This month they were featuring ice creams that taste like doghnuts. I like full circle days like that – start with doughnuts and end with doughnuts. I had the Bavarian Cream (JB couldn’t eat anymore at this point) and it didn’t taste a thing like Bavarian Cream yet it was some of the best ice cream I’ve ever had.

We finally got back to the hotel and I rolled around for a while saying “I can’t believe I ate all of that” before passing out. Day 3 – more cupcakes!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. aly said, on April 6, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    That is an astounding amount of food, Maxine. Have you seen that show Man V. Food? I’m sure you have and I’m sure you know that should have been your gig.

  2. katieo said, on April 10, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    holy geez. HOLY GEEZ.

  3. Andi- the better cook said, on April 21, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    i need to go with you on your next food vacation, for reals


Leave a Reply

