Omnomnominator’s Blog

Not NY part 3…yet…Random meals instead!

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on April 14, 2009

I have had a hectic week or so it’s been a little bit since the last post. And I will finish the New York trip but I was starting to get a backlog of other stuff so I’m going to post some randomness instead. Why? Cause I can. That’s why.

Sometime last week, Thursday I think, I was itching to grill so I bought a top sirloin, some zucchini and mushrooms. I marinated the veggies in italian dressing and just threw some dales and a steak rub on the steak. I don’t know why, cause I didn’t do anything special, but that steak was so good I could punch myself. OMNOMNOMNOM

i usually don't mix them on the skewer but since they cook about the same time I made an exception

i usually don't mix them on the skewer but since they cook about the same time I made an exception

Oh boy. That was such a good meal. I may have to recreate that Friday night...

Oh boy. That was such a good meal. I may have to recreate that Friday night...

So then I got a bit of unfortunate news, a friend was having severe back pains and was going to need emergency back surgery. I live a few blocks from the hospital which allowed me to visit frequently. I knew the meals for recovery week would be covered so I whipped up some snacks. I made some of my granola crack and the Baked Bar from the Baked Cookbook that I love so much. The granola was cracklicious and the baked bars – omnomnomnomnomnomnomnomnom. Sugar bomb but omnomnom. 4 noms out of 5 easy.

img_3525

Graham Cracker crumbs and 2 sticks of butter. I like where this is heading....

The recipe called for toasted coconut so I was multitasking, making granola while prepping the base for the bars.

Pre-Toast

Pre-Toast

While I’m covered in granola and trying to stir the coconut, bossy boots the cat decided she needed to go ‘outside’. (That’s what I call the bonus room. She can’t go outside. She’s allergic to feathers. Really, she should be thankful to have me but that is not how it comes across.) When she starts yelling at me, it’s best to stop what I’m doing and address her needs right then and there. I liken her screams to what I think a pterodactyl would sound like.

While I'm up to my elbows in granola and coconut, guess who decided she had to go 'outside'. Bossy.

My bear

The toasted coconut gets mixed with the butter and graham crackers for the crust

The toasted coconut gets mixed with the butter and graham crackers for the crust

Granola Crack

Granola Crack

OMNOMNOMNOMNOM. I tested it to make sure it wasn't poisonous. And then I tested it to make sure it was fresh tasting. And then I tested it to make sure that it was still good. It was.

OMNOMNOMNOMNOM. I tested it to make sure it wasn't poisonous. And then I tested it to make sure it was fresh tasting. And then I tested it to make sure that it was still good. It was.

So about these baked bars. Coconut graham cracker butter crust, topped with chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, white chocolate chips. To tied it all together, I poured 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk over the whole thing. Uh huh. Yeah.

Baked bars

Baked bars

Closeup of sugar bomb goodness

Closeup of sugar bomb goodness

The good news is my friend is at home recovering and all seems to be on the mend.

Lastly, I grilled pork tenderloin and asparagus for dinner tonight. I put a dizzy pig rub on the pork and then basted it with Johnny Harris (local Savannah BBQ joint) barbecue sauce. The asparagus just gets hit with olive oil, salt and pepper. I wanted a salad with dinner and remembered I had just a little handful of walnuts leftover from some baking so I threw those on the grill to toast them for my salad. I threw on the roll at the last minute too. If I’m grilling, I’m grilling everything.

recipe for...get in my belly goodness

recipe for...get in my belly goodness

img_3543

OMNOMNOMNOMNOM

OMNOMNOMNOMNOM

Backyard is in bloom

Backyard is in bloom

Letting it rest

Letting it rest

OMNOMNOMNOM

OMNOMNOMNOM

The finished meal

The finished meal

So – Scorecard:

Steak Dinner: 5 noms out of 5

Baked Bar: 4 noms out of 5 (It was a little sweet for me, if you can belive that)

Pork Dinner: 5 noms out of 5

Leave a Reply

