Omnomnominator’s Blog

Raisin Bread and BBQ Chicken, oh my

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on May 2, 2009

I’ve been quite interested in making bread lately. I got it stuck in my head that I wanted to make some sandwiches on my own bread so I did. I chose a Ciabatta from Kneadless Simple and it turned out ok. I’ll say it was more than edible but not great. Not sure what happened but I’d try it again. There’s definitely something satisfying about making your own bread for sandwiches. And you can not find Ciabatta in the stores, so made sense to me. For the sandwiches (sorry no photos 😦 ) I grilled flat iron steak, sliced it thin, put it on the bread and covered it with Fontina Cheese. I popped that under the broiler for a few and then topped it with some homemade Horseradish Mayo. I forgot to add the Roasted Red Peppers but it was good anyway.

I also made a Cinnamon Raisin bread which turned out nice. From the same book…There’s a few bonus pics of my dinner I made the other night too. BBQ chicken smoked over cherry wood with grilled zucchini and squash. I used a mixture of Sticky Fingers habenero and Johnny Harris BBQ sauce just cause they were in the fridge.

Buttered and ready to be toasted for breakfast

Buttered and ready to be toasted for breakfast

I got a swirl! Yay

I got a swirl! Yay

OMNOMONOMNOMNOM. I forgot I roasted a slice of tomato to throw in my couscous too. That's a thermometer in the one piece of chicken. I HIGHLY recommend them, especially when cooking pork and chicken.

OMNOMONOMNOMNOM. I forgot I roasted a slice of tomato to throw in my couscous too. That's a thermometer in the one piece of chicken. I HIGHLY recommend them, especially when cooking pork and chicken.

Silicone Basting Brush and other end of the thermometer. I got tired of picking bristles out of my food so I broke down and got the silicone brush

Silicone Basting Brush and other end of the thermometer. I got tired of picking bristles out of my food so I broke down and got the silicone brush

These are my go-go gadget tongs. Short style

These are my go-go gadget tongs. Short style

And now Long!

And now Long!

Finished product. OMNOMNOMNOM

Finished product. OMNOMNOMNOM

Leave a Reply

