Omnomnominator’s Blog

Mother’s Day Visit

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on May 11, 2009

I got up at 7am on Saturday to hit the road with my friend Jason. We were Savannah bound with one dog, 5 suitcases (1 for me, 4 for…) and an ipod loaded with 80’s hits. We choreographed a few dance routines to Cyndi Lauper and I made him sing ” The Time of My Life” with me. We parted ways  at Hwy 204, where his dad met us, and started the backwoods trek to my parents house in Midway Georgia.

Midway is a town of historical significance although you’ve probably never heard of it unless you’re a fan of Georgia / American History. Fort Morris is nearby, the “dead town” of Sunbury, and the Smallest Church in America. Another of my favorite places nearby that’s a bit of a hidden gem is Harris Neck Wildlife preserve.  It’s formerly a World War (I think) landing strip, now a bird sanctuary.Either way it is untouched now and absolutely gorgeous.  We drive down there on occasion and walk around the freshwater ponds the birds nest near, along with the alligators and snakes and more alligators.

So my dad’s family settled around this area when they first arrived here from Ireland and from the looks of it, I’m not sure much has changed.  I grew up in Savannah so Midway is a new world to me still, they didn’t move out there til I was in college. I look forward to the pace of life there and in particular the trip to the Midway IGA where I can find Claxton fruit cake fresh.

My parents are big time gardners. My dad doesn’t like to grow flowers, only fruits and vegetables but my mom is not so picky. They have an odd variety of fruit trees, Korean flowers and whatnots and oddities I’ve never heard of. So, I snapped a few pictures of the yard and what they’re growing currently. Then I came home to my house and looked at the half dead plant on my front porch and the 5 empty pots on the back porch and sighed. My plan is to get things in shape in the next month but who knows.

My mom has recently become obsessed with orchids. She has four of them and all of them have bloomed and rebloomed.

My mom has recently become obsessed with orchids. She has four of them and all of them have bloomed and rebloomed. I always considered them "annuals"...

Could be aloe. Could be something my mom boils and puts over rice. Who knows.

Could be aloe. Could be something my mom boils and puts over rice. Who knows.

blueberries

blueberries

The tree the cats like to climb. And get stuck in. Which is also now the tree my dad has to climb to unstuck them.

The tree the cats like to climb. And get stuck in. Which is also now the tree my dad has to climb to unstuck them.

Persimmon. Could be normal persimmon, could be some speciak Korean Persimmon. Eitherway, I don't like persimmon so not sure.

Persimmon. Could be normal persimmon, could be some speciak Korean Persimmon. Eitherway, I don't like persimmon so not sure.

Baby tiny grapes. Hundreds of clusters on the vines, I hope they get a good crop this year

Baby tiny grapes. Hundreds of clusters on the vines, I hope they get a good crop this year

Blondie

Blondie, or cat that can back down the tree by himself

Spotty, or the cat who can't back down the tree by himself.

Spotty, or the cat who can't back down the tree by himself.

Grape Vine

Grape Vine

Hmm. This bird head is pretty tame for my parents, actually. They have very, uh, eclectic taste.

Hmm. This bird head is pretty tame for my parents, actually. They have very, uh, eclectic taste.

Shrimp plant

Shrimp plant

Being on vacation makes a bluebird tired

Being on vacation makes a bluebird tired

Cute.

Cute.

And this was part of lunch. Kimchee or spicy pickled cabbage. It's good with everything...

And this was part of lunch. Kimchee or spicy pickled cabbage. It's good with everything...

This I took when I got home. This week I'm focusing baking on citrus. I should focus on Strawberries but I guess I'm spoiled on the ones my folks grow because I think store bought ones taste terrible. So, it's citrus instead.

This I took when I got home. This week I'm focusing baking on citrus. I should focus on Strawberries but I guess I'm spoiled on the ones my folks grow because I think store bought ones taste terrible. So, it's citrus instead.

Leave a Reply

