Omnomnominator’s Blog

Study in Citrus – Part 1

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on May 14, 2009

I get fixated. This week, I thought it would be fun to bake treats with a focus on Citrus. Lemon was the main culprit but lime and orange snuck in there too. I’m also trying to focus more on taking better photos and less process. So, I’m working on it….

I made the Lemon Lemon Loaf from my favorite cookbook Baked. I pretty much followed the recipe to a T on this one. I didn’t care for the glaze, I think it was too thin, but the syrup was a great addition. I give this one 4 noms out of 5.

I then picked out two cookies – One was Martha Stewart’s Lime Meltaways – I really liked this cookie but next time I will definitely use Key Lime.

Finally I chose the Citrus Sandwiches from Tish Boyle’s The Good Cookie. I’ve had this cookbook for well over three years and sadly this is the first Cookie I’ve ever made from it. The Cookie is an orange and lemon flavored cookie with a citrus filling and enough butter in it that it’s probably illegal in California. I thought it turned out very well although I would cut the amount of filling in half and maybe add a little more orange juice to the filling to amp up the citrus flavor.

So here’s my new and (Hopefully) improved photos:

IMG_3746

IMG_3748

Lime Meltaways adrift in a sea of sugar. OMNOMNOMNOM

Lime Meltaways adrift in a sea of sugar. OMNOMNOMNOM

IMG_3751

IMG_3752

Leave a Reply

