Omnomnominator’s Blog

Memorial Day Goodness

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on May 26, 2009

So I kicked off Memorial day weekend with a grill out with a few friends. I decided on burgers stuffed with cheddar cheese (I make 2 patties really thin, sprinkle cheese and then seal them together), sweet potato fries (a bust. I used Bobby Flay’s recipe. boo.) and a mozzarella and tomato salad with fresh corn and a cilantro dressing. We were so hungry I only took pics of the appetizer though.  Sorry, I have failed you. Those were kick-butt though – Jalepenos halved and filled with cream cheese and bacon and then wrapped with bacon. Put a toothpick through them and grill them over 350 for abou 20 minutes – oh boy. Yeah.

omnomnomnomnomnomnomom

omnomnomnomnomnomnomom

On Saturday, I picked up a Pizza Stone for my egg. I’ve been wanting to try pizza for some time now and the long weekend seemed like a good oppurtunity. Below are photos of the process of cooking the first pizza (taken by my very lovely assistant.) Pizzas were topped with a homemade sauce and one with fresh basil, fresh mozzarella and I think that was it. The other had canadian bacon, Fontina cheese, onion and some crumbled bacon. They were both fantastic and we couldn’t choose a favorite. I can’t wait to try it again! The egg is a great cooker for pizza because it’s a ceramic cooker and you can get it balls out hot – i cooked these at 550. I cook my steaks at about 650 or 700.

Stone on the Egg, warming up

Stone on the Egg, warming up

Action Shot! my homemade crust is cooking!

Action Shot! my homemade crust is cooking!

Cooked pizza with toppings, onto the plate

Cooked pizza with toppings, onto the plate

Here's the leftovers together. Also called "breakfast for the next day"

Here's the leftovers together. Also called "breakfast for the next day"

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. lindsey said, on May 27, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    mozzarella, basil, and roasted red peppers. roasted that same night. by your lovely assistant.


Leave a Reply

