Omnomnominator’s Blog

New York Trip two point oh, act 1 scene 1

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on July 29, 2009
We left  early early early Saturday Morning for LaGuardia. Caught a cab straight away to the Ace Hotel New York. By far the coolest place I’ve ever stayed. We were there two nights in a Deluxe Room. Angie, the hotel front desk checker inner was probably the nicest person I had ever encountered at a counter. She took such good care of us I hope she gets a raise. We inquired about the brand of pillows at checkout and although she didn’t know, she took my name and number and called me later to tell me the brand once she found out. Stay at this hotel if you get a chance.
Tickets for the Hotel Breakfast. Awesome.

So, since we got checked in around 11:30 and were up since 5 it was time to noms. The Ace is a few steps from the Shake Shack, one of my favorite burger places of all time. An order of a Shack Burger, Cheese Fries (some sort of cheddar and processsed mixomnomnomnomnom i could stick my head in that hot goo and be perfectly content) and an Arnold Palmer while we parked ourselves in Madison Square Park. I forgot to take pictures on account of being SO hungry. Sorry.  We got the call that our room was ready during noms, so back up to the Ace for check in and a shower. Then we headed all over creation looking for B and H photo and art galleries – all were closed. On a Saturday! Oh well. That’s ok, it was time for L’s pick for spot that can’t be missed:  Printed Matter.  I didn’t quite understand this store but L went crazy cuckoo over it and that made me happy. We left with a book that I don’t understand and one with lots of horses and trees in it. But I like them.

On now to…Chelsea Market. I can’t go to New York without hitting this place. We ran through Elinis and Amy’s but I didn’t need anything there. I think Elini’s cookies are beautiful but I’m not here for eating beautiful. It better taste beautiful too and I dont’ think that’s the mark they’re trying to hit. Our first bakery stop was Ruth’s Bakery. Cupcake was ok, i’d give it 3 noms out of 5. It was a very dense cake – somewhere close to pound cake.  The rugelach – classic – was the best. 5 noms out of 5. The apple rugelach – 3 noms. The other best part was the CPR poster

Ruth's Bakery Display case

Ruth's Bakery Display case

The cake - It was more poundcake than cupcake

The cake - It was more poundcake than cupcake

CPR Poster

CPR Poster

Rugelach

Rugelach

So we walked from Ruth’s down the hall and sampled a bit here and there. The Fat Witch bakery does in fact have the best brownies I’ve ever had but I’m not a brownie expert so what do I know. L was getting real hungry for some Pizza so we dipped into Mezzaluna pizza for a cheese slice. Easily 4 noms out of 5
omnomnomnomgoodnomnompizzanomnom

omnomnomnomgoodnomnompizzanomnom

We wandered into some shopping district where I sampled the seating comfortability of several sofas and chairs while L wandered around looking at feathers and glass and pitchers with horses on them. (“Look! Look at this horse!” “uh huh. It’s very pretty” “<swoon swoon swoon” “I know, it’s very nice”)
Waiting

Waiting

And waiting

And waiting

and......waiting.

and......waiting.

After all the shopping and walking and waking up at 5am, we headed back to the Ace for another shower and a bit of downtime before meeting L’s friend for dinner. On the menu: Malaysian. I’ve never tried it and I have to say I really enjoyed it. It’s somewhere between Chinese, a little bit of Indian and I don’t know what else.   New Malaysia restaraunt. You have to go looking for this place to find it (thanks to L’s local friend guide!) We had a good dish of curried potato rolls, fried noodles and some more noodles. No pictures because we were pretty dang ol’ tired of lugging 6 cameras around all day. Sorry. But the night ended in Brooklyn for a party at some bar on the East River. We finally got in bed about 21 hours after we woke up that day. zzzzzzzzzzzz. Act 2 involves burgers and cupcakes…
Leave a Reply

