Omnomnominator’s Blog

New York Act 2 Scene 1

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on August 3, 2009

Sunday morning started with a cup of Stumptown coffee (omnomnominator’s house choice now!) The Ace Hotel serves only Stumptown as they are opening NYC’s first East Coast arm of the coffee house, a Portland OR fav-o-rite. I dig. We headed out the door armed with the Polaroid 1, Polaroid 2, the digital, the Holga and I think that was it. And that’s enough, believe me. We scooted up to B and H photo, mecca to all photographers both aspiring and professional. This place is like Santa’s workshop if Santa liked making money hand over fist selling everything ever related to photography. There’s need little conveyor belts over head, or order at one spot and go to pay and your order shows up. It’s like magic! like.

Since we didn’t eat breakfast at the Ace (well, ok, I sorta insisted we didn’t so we could cram some cupcakes in before first lunch) we were on the lookout for food. We made a wrong turn heading to B and H and stumbled upon

om   nom   nom   i found you nom    nom

om nom nom i found you nom nom

When I last visited in April, this place was pretty much the whole reason J and I went to NYC in the ding dang first place, only to find they had closed. I don’t know what happened and I don’t care. L and I went in and got a few early morning cupcakes – She got the choc peanut butter, I believe, and I opted for the raspberry with fresh whipped cream topping. OMNOMNOMNOM 5 noms.

For the following photo, please imagine in your head “I will always love you” as sung by Ms Whitney Houston. Not the regular part, the part where it pauses and she is really belting it out:

Picture 065

And Iiiiiiiii Willl always looooooooooooove youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

And Iiiiiiiii Willl always looooooooooooove youuuuuuuuuuuuuuu

omnomnomareyoutakingmyomonmonpicture?omnomnom

omnomnomareyoutakingmyomonmonpicture?omnomnom

omnomnomyesnomnom

omnomnomyesnomnom

Loaded up with film, we grabbed the train to the Brooklyn Bridge exit and readied ourselves for the walk into Brooklyn and ultimately the flea market under the bridge.  There was no food on the bridge so I have nothing much to say about it. It was big. Pretty. ok

So, we got to the flea market and entered in at the food booth part. Fish Tacos called us in, so I ordered one to share. It was ok, a little bland, I thought.  It looked good though.

Maybe looks better than it tasted

Maybe looks better than it tasted

We found the stumptown coffee booth, where they sell the whole beans roasted in that Stumptown way. For bying a bag of the Hair Bender the nice gentlemen gave us two free iced coffees. Nice.

I love their signs.

I love their signs.

We tooled around a bit, I bought the most awesome cat shirt in the universe and then we stumbled on something that we may never have again (That’s what L keep saying. I think it’s very likely we’ll have it again.) It’s called raw chocolate ice cream and it has no sugar or dairy in it and was the smoothest best ice cream I’ve ever had. Soooo good. And I don’t even like chocolate. They don’t ship the ice cream but evidently the bon bon bar is pretty dang close in flavor.

yup

yup

Picture 099

After walking around a bit more and telling everyone in shouting distance to go get that ice cream, we headed out of the flea market and up the street to see what was around. Stumbled on a Jaques Torres – Ordered a mudslide cookie warm. Not as good as the choc. chip I had before. It was warmed on a hot plate but was not fresh, I think that’s the key.

omnomnomstill pretty good omnomnomnom

omnomnomstill pretty good omnomnomnom

We grabbed the train back to the Ace and got ready for Fuerza Bruta. I’m not quite sure what to say about this.  Now that I’ve seen it, the website makes total sense. You stand up the whole time, there’s lots of yelling and dancing and people flying around. I’d recommend it but I couldn’t tell you what it’s about except that maybe the author read a lot of Samuel Beckett growing up.

After the show we were of course starving so I recommended we check out Caracas – I read a lot about it on yelp. The preceding link has the definition of an Arepa – The house specialty. Oh wait, we got sidelined by Pommes Frites on the way there, an order of freshcut fries and mayo and THEN Caracas. The Arepa is encased in something akin to an english muffin in texture but corn. I don’t know. They’re good. L had the traditional and I had the fish. I liked hers better but both were excellent. Now was time for favorite parts – dessert. First up: Chickalicious. Still reigning cupcake champ. As usual, no cameras at night so here’s a photo of what I picked up

Let's see. Chocolate, mocha, coconut, vanilla and caramel

Let's see. Chocolate, mocha, coconut, vanilla and caramel

Um, I wish I knew how they made these. I really really do. Best ever in my life.

Since we were so close….on to Milk Bar. I was not interested in ice cream at the moment – I was keeping my eye on the cookie prize. The compost cookie is the one everyone raves about but I’d trade all the tea for one of those cornflake marshmallow chocolate chip cookies. Oh. My.

We ended the night actually eating at Pinkberry. A friend had said check out Yogurtland, it beats the panties off of Pinkberry. We’ll see how that shakes out tomorrow, but L had never had Pinkberry so we popped in. Because we ordered the coconut and I guess the server had his feelings hurt because no one liked the flavor and we did, he upgraded us. I wish wish wish this place would open in Atlanta. I would swarm them. To be honest though I couldn’t tell a difference between original and coconut. Lookit, I’ve tried many fro yo’s – this is the place.

Ok, act 3 later!

Leave a Reply

