Omnomnominator’s Blog

Bacon and biscuits on the egg

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on October 25, 2009

We made some apple butter last night (Cooking Light’s Recipe, oddly enough) and I figured I needed to make some good biscuits to go along with it. Hot biscuits are my favorite vehicle for apple butter. Linds was, at my request, seasoning some cast iron pans that I’m wanting to start using on the egg so the oven was tied up. Yeah, I could have used the other oven for the biscuits, but that’s where the seasoned pans were going to cool so what choice did I have but to use the egg to make breakfast?

Ok, so I have ALWAYS wanted to make breakfast on the egg but I just never have. Armed with Dorie Greenspan’s recipe for biscuits (Um, OMNOMNOMNOMNOM by the way) I heated the egg up to 425 and left it cruising while I rolled out biscuits. I tried a few strips of bacon on the grill while making sure the egg was stabilized. At first I thought I needed to cook the bacon on a pan but since I make bacon wrapped stuff all the time and I never use a pan I figured what the heck, let’s just try it straight up and forget the pan. YESSSSSSS. Not only did this produce beautifully smoked bacon as a bonus I got grill marks! So with test strips done and consumed, I put a pan of biscuits on the egg, cooked them for about 10 minutes and then added the bacon along side since it only takes a few minutes. Photos to follow of biscuits slathered in apple butter and that beautiful bacon. Will I do this again? You bet your sweet biscuit I will.

biscuits on the egg

omnomnomnom

omnomnomnom

so happy together

so happy together

The final product

The final product

Leave a Reply

