Omnomnominator’s Blog

Definitely a chili kinda day

Posted in Uncategorized by user72521 on January 30, 2010

Since I get up at 6:30 just naturally now (now being since I turned 28 or so) I did the last Insanity workout for the week and told L that I’d be taking it easy today, I think. Just going to do the laundry, go to the farmer’s market to figure out how to make our own homemade white cheese queso dip,finish cleaning the house and that’s it! Unless I get motivated to clean the bonus room…

We’re having a meeting tonight to work out our post wedding “we got married in Sweden sorry you couldn’t be there but come help us celebrate” reception. Our very sweet friends volunteered to throw this party together for us and we couldn’t be more thrilled. So, for the meeting I threw together a veggie chili into the crockpot to cruise all day. I found a recipe on BigCityCooking’s blog last night which I adapted slightly:

Veggie Chili

Adapted from Big City Cooking

1Yellow Onion, diced

1 Green and 1 red bell pepper, diced

A healthy bunch of garlic (mine comes out a bag in the freezer but I’d guess about 2-3 cloves worth)

2 cans (14oz each) crushed tomatoes

1 can kidney beans, rinsed well

3/4 cup black beans, soaked over night (the night before. I subbed this for a can of black beans)

1 cup corn

1 Tbsp Cumin

1 Tbsp Chili Powder

Throw in pot, let cook all day. Test later to see if it’s a disaster

Here’s what it looks like going in:

Leave a Reply

